Enabling and Disabling Version History
End point version history works in a similar way to other iCM content items. When an end point is published or deleted, an entry is written to the version history and you are prompted to add a comment. Version history is not written when an end point is saved as work in progress.
Unlike other content items, you can disable version history for an end point while you're working on it. This stops dozens of history entries being created during testing.
If an end point is in "Development mode" (see End Point Target Information) the "Development mode version history" action in the left hand panel can be used to toggle version history on or off. This option only takes effect if the end point is in development mode. Version history will always be written if the end point is not in development mode.
Viewing Version History
Access to the history of an end point is granted to a user via their Content Privileges.
To view the version history of an end point or group, right click on it and select "View history" from the context menu.
From here the "Details" button will let you view the comments added to a particular version when it was submitted.
Select two versions of an item from the list in the top section of the work area and press the "Differences" button to open the Version Differences view.
Restoring an Old Version
To restore an old version of an end point or group, open the version history as described above.
Select the version of the end point you would like to restore and press the "Restore" button. This will open the selected version of the end point in the editor. To make this version live, save/publish the end point as you would when normally editing. You can also cancel edit if you decide you don't want to restore this version.
A new line in the version history will be created, allowing you to undo the restore if needed.
If version policies have been set up so that the version of the end point you want to restore is not listed (ie there are not enough versions retained, or the version you want is too old) there is unfortunately nothing you can do.
Restoring Deleted End Points and Groups
To restore a deleted end point, you need to look at the version history of the group it was in.
View the version history for a group and you will see a list of any end points that have been deleted from it. Select the end point you would like to restore and press the "Restore" button. This will load the deleted end point into the editor, ready to be edited and submitted.
Deleting a Version
You can delete a specific entry in the version history by selecting it and pressing the "Delete version" button. When a version is deleted it can never be restored. We have provided this feature so you can remove historic content that may contain personal data that needs to be removed from the database.