Transcript
This video covers website users and how they are stored and managed in iCM.
You'll find the site groups and users section in the top management menu. Access to this area is locked down by iCM security privileges. You should be strict who you give access to this area to as it contains user data and personal information about everyone who has registered with your site.
In the left menu you can see all of the users who have accounts on the site and all of your site user groups.
If you did want to manually create a user, right-click and pick "Create a user".
You wouldn't normally create a user. Users are created by the registration form, or logging in with third party providers, like Facebook, Google, or a corporate login like ADFS.
We'll look at the user I created in the first video using the registration form.
The username is a unique identifier for the account. It's not a username the user will see in My Account, and its not the username they will log in with.
The display name, preferred name, and email address are all taken from the user profile. The display name is set using a template in the management section of iCM. It takes elements from the profile and creates a name that can be used throughout the site.
The membership tabs shows the user groups this user is a member of. In this example the user has been added to the single default group set in the login article.
User profiles are usually managed by the user themselves. This form is very similar to the one a user can access themselves via the My Account article. It includes information like name, address and email address.
The final tab shows user logins. These are the usernames the user actually logs in with. Accounts can have multiple logins, all associated with the one user. They might have a normal login, and a Facebook login. The important thing is when they log in, they are seen as the same user, not duplicates.
At the bottom are the zones this user has access to. You can have multiple websites managed in iCM, and zones group them together and this section controls which zones a user can log into. The important thing is that when a user registers and logs into a site, they are automatically given access to the zone that site is in.
Further reading
- Site Groups and Users
- User Management
- User Settings (includes information on the display name template)
