2. Authentication article extras and subsite settings
Your site login uses the Authentication template.
The Authentication template relies on the platform's API Server and Authentication worker. This service handles logging users into the site, the login options (ie the different login providers) and even generates the login form. This advanced feature of the platform can be read about in the Authentication worker. This article looks at what you can do once the service has been set up.
Setting up the login article
In our standard installation you'll find the login article in the top utility menu:

The "Extras" tab in the article holds all of the configuration options for your article. The current article extras for the Authentication template look like this:

| Setting | Description |
|---|---|
| Log out text | When a user is logged in, this text overrides the article heading. If you leave the field blank, the heading will change to "Log out" |
| Welcome article | If a user goes straight to the login article, this is the article they'll be redirected to once they've logged in. if you don't set an article, the default is your site's homepage |
| Default groups | Whenever a user logs in, they'll be added to these groups. The groups you pick here should be the standard groups you want every member to be part of. If you update these groups, users will be added to any additional ones next time they log in. You can't use these settings to remove users from groups |
| Utility articles | These should be articles that display your registration and password reset forms. They'll appear as links on the login page |
| Enabled providers | All of the providers configured in the Authentication worker are listed here. Check the boxes for those you'd like to appear on the login form |
When will users log in?
There are two scenarios that will prompt a user to log in.
Authentication Challenge
If a non-authenticated user tries to access secure content, they have to log in. The user will be directed to the site's login article, which is set in your subsite settings, and once they've authenticated, they'll be redirected to the secure content they were trying to access.
Upon reaching the secured content the user will either be able to view the content, or be presented with a "Security Denied" message (also set in the subsite settings) should the content be secured to a security group the user is not a member of.
Direct Login
A non-authenticated user may also log into the site by navigating directly to the site's login article. After successfully authenticating the user will be directed to the "Welcome" article in the article extras. If an article has not been set, the user will be directed to the site's homepage.
Subsite settings
When someone who isn't logged in tries to access secured content, they are first directed to your site's login article. This article needs to be set in your subsite configuration:

