iCM can be set up to save previous versions of articles for a set period of time.
Site wide version control policies are defined in iCM's Autoconfig, the defaults are five versions for up to 90 days. You can set additional policies in the Version Control Policies section of iCM Management, which also explains how the retention period and number of versions to keep interact.
Access to the history of an article is granted to a user via their Content Privileges.
Viewing Version History
To view the version history of an article, right click on it and select "View article history" from the context menu.
From here the "Details" button will let you view the comments added to a particular version of an article when it was submitted.
Select two versions of an item from the list in the top section of the work area and press the "Differences" button to open the Version Differences view.
Restoring an Old Version
To restore an old version of an article, open the version history as described above.
Select the version of the article you would like to restore and press the "Restore" button. This will open the selected version of the article in the article editor. To make this version live, submit the article as you would when normally editing an article. You can also cancel edit if you decide you don't want to restore this version.
A new line in the version history will be created, allowing you to undo the restore if needed.
If version policies have been set up so that the version of the article you want to restore is not listed (ie there are not enough versions retained, or the version you want is too old) there is unfortunately nothing you can do.
Restoring Deleted Articles
To restore a deleted article, you need to look at the version history for its parent.
View the version history for an article and you will see a list of any child articles that have been deleted. Select the child article you would like to restore and press the "Restore" button. This will load the deleted article into the article editor, ready to be edited and submitted.
If a large section of the article tree has been deleted, you will need to restore each parent, child and grandchild article in turn.
An deleted article that is restored retains it's version history.
Deleting a Version
You can delete a specific entry in the version history by selecting it and pressing the "Delete version" button. When a version is deleted it can never be restored. We have provided this feature so you can remove historic content that may contain personal data that needs to be removed from the database.