Toggle menu

Group Management

The group Management template lets you move users into and out of user groups via a secure article on your website rather than logging into iCM. It's designed to be used by service managers and team leaders who need to organise users into teams so that they can work on cases and other tasks.

Group Management

Using the Template

Pick the Group to Manage

The "Group to manage" drop-down lists the manageable groups that have been selected in the article extras (see below).

Pick the group you'd like to add users to, or remove users from, to load the full template.

Available Users

This is a list of users from the user group set as the "Viewable group" in the article extras. It will include users in any nested child user groups too. These are the users you can add to the group you are managing.

Use the checkboxes to select the users you'd like to add to the group, then press "Add selected users" to move them into the right-hand list. Users that have been added are highlighted green.

Users will only ever appear in one list - if a user is already a member of the group you are managing they will appear on the right-hand side.

Moving users into the group you are managing does not remove them from the "Viewable group", just the list displayed by the template (so that the same user doesn't appear twice).

The available users list has a limit of 100 users.

Users in this Group

The users in this list are current members of the group.

To remove users, select the checkboxes next to them and press "Remove selected users". They will be moved into the left-hand list and highlighted red. If you move a newly added user back, they are not highlighted - only changes waiting to be submitted are.

There may also be users in the group you are managing that are not visible on the template. The lists of users will only ever include users from the single "Viewable group" picked in the article extras.

Summary of Changes

Beneath the two main user group lists is a summary of the users who will be added and removed.

Confirm or Cancel

Press "Confirm changes" to update the user group, or "Cancel changes" to reset the template.

Creating the Article

Page Title and Content

The article heading and body content, including inline elements, appear as per the Default template.

Related Content

Related content, like media items, links and features, display as per the Default template.

The article should have the "Group management template" (GROUPMANAGEMENT) form related to it. This form provides the management interface.

Article Security

Template constraints have been set up so that articles using the Group Management template must be secured.

Article Extras

The article extras control the groups and users that can be managed.

Group Management Extras

The "Viewable group" provides the list of users that can be managed by this template. Users are never removed from this group. Instead it:

  • Provides the list of available users
  • Filters the visible users in the groups that are being managed

The group you pick here should have fewer than 100 members. A validation error will be displayed if the group has more than that.

The "Manageable groups" list populates the "Group to manage" drop-down. These are the groups that users can be added to or removed from.

A typical setup might include a viewable group that contains all of the users in a department, and manageable groups for teams that carry out particular tasks.

Cases and Workflow Tasks

The template is designed to help manage workload by adding users to groups responsible for Case Management cases and other workflow tasks.

Cases are often assigned to a group of users who can then claim the case to work on. When a user is moved out of a group, they'll no longer see the claimable tasks for that group. However, if a case (or any workflow task) is assigned directly to a user (ie they have already claimed it) it will remain assigned to them until they complete it or unclaim it. That would mean that unclaiming a task will prevent the same user reclaiming it if their user groups have changed.

Secure Content

Changing the group a user is in will impact upon any secure content they can access if those groups are used for article and media security.

Single Sign On and Group Mirroring

We don't recommend picking user groups which are managed via a third party logins like ADFS. Group mirroring, where users are added to or removed from groups as they log in, could undo any changes made using this template. If you use group mirroring, create groups directly in iCM which users can be added to.

Security Log

When changes are made to user groups, an entry is added to iCM's Security Log.

Search for the Site User Group entries to see a list of changes:

Security Log

Double-click on an entry to see the details:

Security Log Entry

It shows:

  • The group that was updated
  • Who made the update
  • The IDs and usernames of users added
  • The IDs and usernames of users removed

Configuration

To make finding entries easier, actions can be logged against an iCM user. In the example above we created a dummy iCM user called GROUPMANAGEMENTTEMPLATE. This user has no iCM privileges or content roots.

The iCM user's ID is then added to a configuration end point for the environment, at the namespace:

config.[environment].groupmanagement.getConfig

It has a single property:

async function(params, credentials) {
    return {
        /*
         * Used to define which user changes are logged against in the iCM security log. Full details
         * of changes will always be recorded in the "Action" column regardless of this setting.
         */
        securityLogIcmUserId: 1234
    };
}

Last modified on 20 March 2026