To create or edit an iCM user select "iCM Groups/Users" from the Management section of iCM.
To create a new user, right-click the USERS folder and click "Create a user" from the context menu. To edit and existing user, double-click on it.
The first tab of the iCM user editor holds all of the user's details and login information.
|The username. Used when logging in and recorded against all actions taken by this user in iCM. Must be unique
|Only users with the "Change Password" privilege are able to change the passwords of other iCM users. Password complexity, length, and whether or not "common" passwords should be blocked, are set in the iCM User Settings
|Must match the password above
|Set the password expiry rules for this user. The options are "Never" or "After"/"Every" followed by a number of days
|The email address of this user, used to notify them of article updates, article expiries, approvals, maintenance mode etc. A set of "reserved" email addresses exist, generally used for error reports sent to GOSS's mailboxes. If one of these addresses is entered you'll receive a warning and emails (other than error emails generated by iCM) will not be sent to this user
|At least one user must be an iCM administrator. See iCM Groups for more information
|The date and time the user last logged in
|This field will be checked if the user is currently logged in. Users with the "iCM Users Force Logout" privilege will be able to uncheck this field to force-logout a user (they will be logged out when they next take an action in iCM). Users logged out in this way will receive an email informing them that they have been logged out and by whom.
A user cannot force themselves out of iCM.
|If a user makes five consecutive unsuccessful login attempts they will be locked out for an hour and this checkbox will be checked. To unlock a locked out user, uncheck this checkbox (and you should probably reset their password for them).
Users can also become locked out if you have set up the LockStaleUsers scheduled task. Users locked out by this method are locked out indefinitely and must be manually unlocked by an administrator unchecking this checkbox
|Allow password reset
|If this box is checked the user is able to reset their password by answering their three security questions using the "Forgotten password" link on the iCM login screen. See Security Questions and Forgotten Passwords.
If unchecked a user is still able to change their password once logged into iCM using the Change Security Settings action on the iCM homepage
The user preferences section includes all of the options a user is able to set for themselves using their Personal Settings and Shortcuts.
The "Default notify when approved" checkbox has two functions. First it controls whether a user is emailed when content they have submitted is approved. This option can also be toggled on and off as articles are submitted for approval by the user, see Awaiting Approval Articles for more information. Secondly it controls whether the user will receive a notification when an article they own is updated by another user, irrespective of any approval chains.
This tab lists the groups the user is a member of. Use the "Select" button to add the user to groups. Highlight a group and click "Remove" to remove it.
If you press the select button you'll see a list of all of the groups in iCM. Current groups this user is a member of are highlighted. Double-clicking on groups in this list is a quick way to add or remove them from the user. There's also a search control.
This tab lists all of the privileges assigned directly to this user.
Use the "Select" and "Remove" buttons to add or remove privileges.
For more information about iCM privileges, and what happens if a user is a member of multiple groups and also has privileges assigned directly, see iCM Privileges.
To see a list of all of the privileges this user has been granted via the groups it is a member of, click "Show inherited privileges" in the action panel.
The content roots you select in this tab will be granted directly to this user.
For more information about iCM content roots, see iCM Content Roots.
To see a list of all of the content owned by a user, click "Show content owned by this user" in the action panel. The list can be downloaded as a text file.
The alias tab lets you link an iCM user with one or more site users. Use the "Select" and "Remove" buttons to manage the site users linked to this iCM user.
Aliases allow products like "contributor actions" (logged in site users being able to edit articles) to work.
Tasks and activities created in the Business Process Modeller are also always carried out by website users. If you would like tasks to be carried out by users in iCM, perhaps via an iCM Form App, they will need to be aliased to a website user.
See Activities for more information about the candidate assignment of workflow activities.
The shortcuts tab lists the shortcuts created for this user. The options match those available when a user creates shortcuts for themselves. See Personal Settings and Shortcuts.
Deleting a User
To delete a user right-click on the user and choose "Delete this user". A warning will be displayed that includes the total number of articles and media items owned by this user. When you carry out the deletion you'll be prompted to reassign all this content to a different iCM user.