Toggle menu

How to reassign a case

This guide will show you how to reassign a case.

Before you start

  • You must be working on the case as the case manager (not viewing the case via case search)
  • Reassignment groups and reasons must be configured

Steps to reassign a case

  1. Open the case.
  2. In the case actions, click "Assign case to another".
    Reassign Button
  3. Pick the group, then optionally the user, you'd like to reassign the case to.
    Reassign to Group

    Picking a user will assign the case directly to them. Picking "All users in group" will put the case into the group's list of claimable tasks.
  4. Pick a reason for reassigning the case and add a note. These will be added to the case history as a private note.
    Reassign Reason and Note
  5. Finally, press "Assign case".

Result

  • The case is reassigned
  • A private note is added to the case history
  • If configured, an email will be sent to the new case manager/group

Further reading

Configuration is described in How to set the user groups a case can be reassigned to and How to set up reassign, escalation and close reasons.

Reassigning a Case has more information about the emails and history notes that Case Management might generate.

Last modified on 30 April 2026